2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Rotor Removal

Specific repair issues for Dodge RWD trucks, vans + Jeep products
motley06
300 Club: Superstar Contributor

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Rotor Removal

Post by motley06 »

Just had a 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6 come in the shop. We found the labor guide shows .8 to remove the front rotors EACH. We generally just use rotor removal as a guide for machining rotors. However, if we used the guide in this instance, we'd be getting close to $200 after hazmat/shop supplies/taxes/etc. Is this correct, or a misprint? I would be more inclined to believe .8 for both rotors, not each. I checked the repair info and it looks pretty straight forward, but I've never done brakes on a Jeep before...
brianp87
3K Time Lord Contributor
3K Time Lord Contributor

Re: 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Rotor Removal

Post by brianp87 »

I would charge 2 hours to replace the pads, clean and lubricate slides and resurface the rotors on the vehicle.
steven kiser
5K Holy Smokes Contributor

Post by steven kiser »

Is this the labor as an add on or stand alone?
never argue with a fool, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience
motley06

Post by motley06 »

stand alone. 1.6 just to remove rotors seems excessive to me :?:
liljoe
1500 Club Master Plus Contributor

Post by liljoe »

motley06 wrote:stand alone. 1.6 just to remove rotors seems excessive to me :?:
I have seen this on these as well. I just charge 1.0 for rotor R&R, which is normal for a hat style rotor with no caliper bracket in the way.....
Working hard to prove the Green Team can do it with the best of 'em.
Always remember: AIN'T NO FREE LUNCHES!!
Am I the Only One?- I don't think I am.
The further a society retreats from the truth, the more it hates those who speak it. George Orwell.
steven kiser

Post by steven kiser »