2005 Dodge 5.9L Dsl Extended Cranking Before Start

Specific repair issues for Dodge RWD trucks, vans + Jeep products
MAS1866

2005 Dodge 5.9L Dsl Extended Cranking Before Start

Post by MAS1866 »

Hey there all. New to using this forum so please bare with me.
I've got this 2005 5.9l dsl in the shop annd I have limited experience with them. It belongs to a friend or I might not have gotten into it.(that and I always like new stuff to learn about.)

It came in because of extended cranking before it will start. And there are enough of theese things around here(and I've had enough in) to know that when they are at operating temp. they barely need to crank one rpm b4 they fire.
How does a guy go about testing the fuel limiting valve(fuel pressuure relief) on these 5.9`s? I've done all of the fuel volume checks and everything checks out. I've checked and retorqued vall of the high pressure fuel lines and crossover tubes and there doeesn't seem to be anything wrong there. So i'm down to the fuel pressure relief or a set of injectors.

Thanks in advance for any help.
steven kiser
5K Holy Smokes Contributor

Re: 2005 Dodge 5.9L Dsl Extended Cranking Before Start

Post by steven kiser »

Is it only when the temp drops below a certain point or every time they go to start it? Are there any codes? when it finally starts is there a plume of black smoke from the tail pipe?
never argue with a fool, they'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience
Tim Martin
2.5K Uber Ninja Contributor
2.5K Uber Ninja Contributor

Post by Tim Martin »

One thing is to check fuel pressure from tank to engine. Also what is fuel rail pressure when engine is cranking?
mopwrforme
200 Club: Major Contributor

Post by mopwrforme »

you are correct to ck. volumn not preasure on the low side fuel system. if its to spec. make sure you have + or -
500 psi on the high side youll find a set point for the high side in the data stream. if your lower on the high side